Friday, September 09, 2011

Choosing What to Read After The Night Circus, or Book Binge!

As you all know, we're inching closer to the closing of the Borders chain here in the U.S. I've been on the Borders e-mail list for ages, and when I started getting sale notices, I didn't pay much attention. But when I got the most recent sale notice, and everything was 70-80% off, I leapt into action like a book-eating jungle cat.

Only moments ago, I finished The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, and let me tell you all, I am BURSTING to post about it. BUT, Heather and I are reading it together and I'm waiting to discuss it with her a bit before I gush to you all. However, if you've noticed my sidebar you will now realize that I've hereby declared The Night Circus "The BEST Book EVER in the Land." Pretty swanky title, eh? More on that later...

SO, trade paperbacks 70-80% off are reasonably cheap, so I got myself four of them at the Borders sale. I'm now circling them trying to decide what to read next that might even remotely hold a candle to The Night Circus. OR something that might be different enough from "The BEST Book EVER in the Land" to keep my reading mojo smoldering. I picked up...
  • Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters because I was so overcome with adoration for The Little Stranger
  • Amsterdam by Ian McEwan because he totally RULES ME with books like On Chesil Beach and Atonement
  • The True Story of Hansel and Gretel by Louise Murphy because there's Holocaust/fairy tale tie-in element and I'm for sho' all over that 
  • Born to Rule: Five Reigning Consorts, Granddaughters of Queen Victoria by Julia P. Gelardi (non-fiction) because I have an ongoing and ever-growing obsession with all things Victoria ever since I watched the film, The Young Victoria, starring the stunning, grossly attractive, and always fashion-forward Emily Blunt (girl crush)
 So what should I read???? Have you, or you, or you read any of these books? Are you lusting after any of them too? HELP!

14 comments:

  1. Oh that was a lovely movie. Emily Blunt makes any movie lovelier, even The Adjustment Bureau which was an eh ok movie for me, but couldve been worse if it were some other actress. So my vote is for the non-fiction. Because sometimes you need a little non-fiction to break up the fiction reading, especially after the Best book ever (I so have to go see what that is all about... I am so behind!)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I wanted to stop by and tell you that John Polidori's The Vampyre is free for the nook over at Barnes and Noble!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't read any of them, but I vote for Amsterdam.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I just bought The Little Stranger from the Borders nearby me. I couldn't resist the low prices and bought a TON of books. I have no self control... :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Whoa, I can't wait to see your review of The Night Circus. I am joint reviewing it with a Heather, too. But I admit that neither of us thought it to be the best book ever in the land.

    I don't know what you should read next- EVERY book will fall short now, I suspect!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ooooh, I definitely need to get my hands on a copy of The Night Circus.

    As for the books you listed, I have only read Tipping the Velvet and I LOVED it. It was very atmospheric and one of Waters' best, in my opinion.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I am hoping The Night Circus is released up here soon! I think it's due any time now. I wish we could get on the Barnes and Noble sale, even though it's very sad to see another bookstore chain go down. Can't wait for your review! Especially since you think it is wonderful :-)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Go for the Sarah Waters book. I'm putting the Night Circus on my list.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I have Tipping the Velvet on my shelves too. Maybe you can read that and tell me if it's good.

    I'm waiting, waiting, waiting for The Night Circus. I'm on the waiting list at the library.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I just finished The Night Circus and I REALLY liked it! I really want to read some Sarah Waters soon... I haven't read Tipping the Velvet before. I really didn't like Amsterdam. I read it after I read Atonement and I was a bit disappointed. And then, I really want to read The True Story of Hansel and Gretel. My library doesn't have it, but your review might inspire a purchase!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Sarah Waters has been on my radar for a while and I must pick up one of her books these days.
    "The True Story of Hansel and Gretel" sounds intriguing, I would choose that one just because I like the title and I've always loved children stories. :) It reminds me of Neil Gaiman's "Snow, Glass, Apples" a vampire version of "Snow White" which I thought was very good.

    ReplyDelete
  12. The True Story of Hansel and Gretel is fantastic. Did you read Briar Rose by Jane Yolen? Similar vein. Very very good. Might not be the best follow up to The Night Circus though, just about anything will pale in comparison and I don't want TSoH&G to pale. Maybe Amsterdam for something completely different?

    I'm about halfway through and plan to read ALL DAY LONG because TNC is so completely breathtaking I can barely stand it!

    ReplyDelete
  13. The story has elements of romance, mystery, and the paranormal which blend together seamlessly. Because of this, I would recommend it for book clubs of all fiction genres, and also to anyone who is eager for something original!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I agree NC is the greatest book ever in the land. I hugged it for a while after finishing it. Have no idea what to read next while I'm still on this NC high. Maybe I'll just read it again.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for taking the time to comment! I respond to comments individually by e-mail and/or here on the site. I value community above all else in blogging, and talking with you all is the highlight of my blogging day!